Blissful Hope

A Grad Student's Journey Toward Healthy Eating

Pasta Fagioli February 3, 2012

Filed under: Dinner — Maria @ 6:24 pm

Tonight for dinner I am having a bowl of homemade pasta fagioli. I made a big pot of this a while back and I am so glad I had a few containers in my freezer because I totally didn’t feel like cooking. I worked on my EBM project all afternoon and still feel like I haven’t put a dent it. This is going to be an interesting weekend attempting this ha, especially because I feel like everyone I ask is clueless too ugh. Oh well, I have to babysit tonight so I am planning to work on it there too and can maybe work my way through some of it. Then tomorrow I have lab all day where we are learning how to draw blood, give shots, insert IV/NG tubes, etc. I am pretty excited! The clinical aspect of medicine is something that really drew me to the field. They are feeding us breakfast and lunch too which is nice. Off to babysit! Happy Friday :D

 

3 Responses to “Pasta Fagioli”

  1. This looks so good! Do you have a recipe for this?!

    • Maria Says:

      Thanks so much! I pretty much just sauteed a few gloves of fresh garlic, a small onion, and celery leaves all chopped and put them in a pot with a tbsp or 2 of olive oil until soft. Then I add 45 ounces of canned tomato sauce, 30 ounces of water (just use the empty can) and 2 cans of cannellini beans including the juice. Then I add a pinch of salt and pepper that can be adjusted for taste. Meanwhile, boil a box of ditalini pasta and once about halfway cooked, add to the pot of sauce and let simmer for about a half hour. You can simmer it longer if you would like but the pasta will start to break down after a while. You can add water if it gets too thick too. Super easy (and cheap!) and beyond delicious! Let me know if you try it :D


Leave a Reply

